The Murray City Police Deptpartment conducts State of Utah Hunter Education classes twice a year at the Murray City Police Training Center, which is located at 136 W. Vine St.
The Murray Police instructs the classes in January and August. These dates allow students to obtain their certification and “blue card” which is necessary to apply for big game permit drawings or to purchase hunting licenses for the upcoming hunting seasons.
While the class is called Hunter Education, the purpose of the course is to acquaint students with general gun safety. Moreover, it is an excellent opportunity for children and adults to learn proper firearms handling techniques and to handle other situations involving firearms.
The course is mandatory for any Utah resident born after Dec. 31, 1965, who wishes to obtain a hunting license in the State of Utah. It is also necessary for Utah residents born prior to that date to obtain some out-of-state hunting licenses. Non-residents of Utah are required to have passed a hunter education course in their home state prior to applying for and obtaining a Utah hunting license.
Instructors for the class are Murray City Police officers. The class is an excellent opportunity for the community, especially young people, to become acquainted with the Murray Police Department and the officers on a very informal basis as well as to have the opportunity to learn about a very important and informative subject.
Students must be eleven years of age or older to register for the class. There have been several changes in the Utah Hunter Education laws, costs and registration procedures recently of which students and parents need to be aware:
1. The cost of the course has increased to $10.00.
2. Students MUST first register at any Division of Wildlife Resource Office, OR with any State of Utah game licensing agent. Students may NOT register at Murray City Police Dept.
3. After registering with DWR or the license agent, students must obtain a voucher. AFTER receiving the voucher, students must register for the class they wish to attend at the class location.
4. The student MUST bring the voucher with them to class, and give it to the instructor on the first night of the course.
5. Upon successful completion of the class, the instructor signs and validates the voucher. The voucher is valid as a 365-day small game license from the original date of purchase.
6. Most important, the “blue card” is NOT issued at the time of graduation. The DWR mails the “blue card” to the student at the address listed on the voucher. The “blue card” can take several weeks to arrive, so please plan accordingly when scheduling yourself, your children, or others to attend the course.
After obtaining a voucher, students may register for the next available class at the Murray City Police Department main administrative offices located at, 5025 S. State St. on the second floor. For further information, students may also contact Murray Police at 264-2673 or check the DWR web-site at www.wildlife.utah.gov.
TENATIVE CLASS SCHEDULES FOR 2013 are:
August dates are pending
*****Students must attend all six classes to complete certification*****