Murray City, Utah There's More to Murray

Go To Search
home
print pagerss
Criminal Matters
Jail Time and Fines

Class of Offense

Jail Time

Base Fine

Class B Misdemeanor

0-180 days

$0-$1,000

Class C Misdemeanor

0-90 days

$0-$750

Infraction

0 days

$0-$750


The maximum fine for any one offense heard in a justice court is $1,882. You can view the Utah Uniform Fine and Bail Schedule to find out the recommended fine or bail for your offense.


Additional Charges


 

  • In addition to the base fine, the State of Utah requires that defendants convicted of certain crimes pay a surcharge of 35% or 85-90% of the base fine depending on the crime.
  • There is also a $40 Court Security Fee on certain offenses.
  • You may receive probation from the Court in lieu of a jail term.
    • If the Court imposes probation, the Court will explain to you each of the terms and conditions of your probation. You must fully comply with each term of your probation. Failure to do so can result in revocation of your probation and incarceration in jail.

 






Payment Plans
If you are to pay a fine, the Court or Hearing Officer can help you set a payment plan for the fine payment. This is a monthly payment, but must be completed within one year of the adjudication.

More Information

HomeContact UsSitemap AccessibilityCopyright NoticesPowered by CivicPlus
Murray City Hall  •  5025 South State Street  •  Murray, UT 84107